Bloggin bout Biscotti

I am a SUCKER for coffee. I love it. I need it. I’m only 16, which is kinda sad, but do I care?Nope. I love coffee. Yenno what goes great with coffee? Biscotti!! If I’m getting coffee from Starbucks (instead of the occasional green tea lemonade), 9 times out of 10 I’m gonna grab one of the almond biscottis (is that the plural form of biscotti? Not sure) that they have conveniently placed at the register. However.. those things are like $2.00 each! Why not just make my own with ingredients that everyone has in their pantry? It’s a basic dough: butter, sugar, eggs, flour, salt, baking powder with some additional stuff like flavoring and nuts.

This recipe was super easy to do, it just takes FOREVER, because you have to bake the dough two times. After all, ‘biscotti’ comes from the Latin word ‘biscoctus’, which means twice-cooked. I picked this recipe  from the internet. I decided to go with an almond variation. Like I said, the dough was very simple, so simple that I forgot I was making something new and didn’t take pictures until about halfway through the process.

Now the recipe I used, ‘Nonna’s Biscotti Recipe’, calls for brandy in with the wet ingredients, but I just left that out. Nonna also says to stir the ingredients together, as if! There is a KitchenAid mixer proudly on display in our kitchen and I will never use anything else to mix with besides that beauty, let alone a SPOON.

Now I know the recipe says to put the almonds in before the dry ingredients, but I somehow couldn’t bring myself to do that. The two pictures above are before and after almonds, and it was crazy how fast the dough came together when I added the nuts. It took, no lie, 3 turns of the mixer and it was done.b3
The dough is super b4.jpgsticky when fully mixed, so you have to split it in half and refrigerate for about 30 minutes. Make sure to use your most impressive knife for the photo-op. Wrap it up, and into the fridge!

 

After chilling, it’s much easier to handle. Just form each ball into a loaf and pop them in the oven for about 30 minutes.unnamed When the loaves come out, they’re still a bit soft and squishy.unnamed-1                                                                  Let them cool for 15 minutes, and slice into about 1/2 to 3/4 inch pieces. The slices go back in the oven for another 20 minutes.

Like I said, it takes a while. In all of your downtime, clean up a bit. You still have a large dirty mixing bowl that’s just begging to be cleaned, and if you’re like 97% of the population, you clean it with a spatula and your mouth.

Once the biscotti came out of the oven for the second time, and cooled for the second time, I dipped/drizzled them in dark chocolate. Nonna doesn’t say to do that, but to Nonna I say “Why not?”

img_1190

Aren’t they pretty?? Quite delicious too, and super cheap! Goes great with a nice cup of coffee on a chilly morning. Give them a try!image-1-1

One thought on “Bloggin bout Biscotti

Leave a Reply

