Popeye’s Fav Pasta

If there are two things I can’t live without, it’s the daily Tastemade SnapChat stories and Chopped. Okay, and my cats. And my family. And my friends. And my phone. And liquid eyeliner, but I do really love Tastemade and Chopped. Tastemade, for those who don’t know, puts out daily recipe videos done by young people to appeal to the SnapChat audience. I’m assuming every decent person has watched Chopped at least once in their life, or at least I hope that’s the case.

Anyways, I was doing my daily Tastemade watching, and my favorite Tastemaker (that’s what they’re called, promise), Frankie Celenza, popped up on my screen! I’ve always wanted to try one of his recipes, and on this particular day he was making a “very much needed update to fettuccine alfredo“. Essentially, he made homemade spinach pasta with alfredo sauce. Now comes the Chopped element to my story. It almost never fails for someone to try to make homemade pasta within the 20 minute timeframe of the Chopped kitchen. It’s usually someone really stupid or someone who just wants to show off, but every time, the judges say something along the lines of “I commend you for (attempting to) making homemade pasta and taking a risk like that.” The “attempting to” is there if the pasta is crap.

I’ve never made pasta before, but this seemed like the perfect way to fulfill two dreams at once: 1) Make Frankie and Tastemade proud and 2) Impress Geoffrey Zakarian, Alex Guarnaschelli and good ole Ted.

Enough talk. Let’s get cooking! The pasta gets its lovely green color from a large img_1302bunch of boiled spinach. I just trimmed off the stems and rinsed it off before boiling for about 3 minutes. In the words of Frankie-Man, I’m pretty sure spinach was the original inspiration for Honey, I Shrunk the Kids, because it starts off so big and you’re left with so little.

The recipe calls for semolina flour and all-purpose, but they didn’t have semolina at Kroger, so I used all-purpose for the whole amount instead of half and half. I googled it; it’s an okay thing to do, but it may result in a softer pasta.

While the spinach cooled, I separated the eggs and sifted the flour due to the fact that mine was super lumpy. fullsizerender-1

(*whispers* that’s the same amount of spinach in both pictures)

enlight1

You start off by making a little well in the middle of the lil flour mountain and then pouring in the eggs and the spinach. Mix up the insides with a fork, and then you start slowly incorporating the flour until it comes together. You then knead it until homogeneous throughout. Before cooking, it needs to rest for about 30 minutes in the fridge.

This was surprisingly easy to do? With how unfailingly amazed the Chopped judges are every time a contestant makes pasta, I figured this would be the chefy equivalent to my calculus midterm. Alas, it was just the opposite.img_1342

I rolled it out as thin as I possibly could, which was still too thick, but it wasn’t the end of the world. However, I highly suggest getting it very thin. Once you’ve gotten it paper thin, or close to it, cut the dough into also-thin strips (thinner than what is pictured, I cut them again before cooking). All that’s left now is to boil em up, and it literally takes less than a minute. I made a quick little alfredo sauce, just butter, heavy cream, parm, and seasonings. Basically, it’s cream in 3 different forms mixed together to create sweet heavenly bliss. Superrrrr easy, and here’s the recipe. The final product is so pretty! The bright vibrancy of the spinach shines through, even when coated in what could be alternatively coined as awful-lot-of-calories sauce. It was quite yummy! 10/10 would recommend, just make sure the pasta is super thin. Thanks to Tastemade for the recipe! 

2 thoughts on “Popeye’s Fav Pasta

Leave a Reply

