Rollin’, Rollin’, Rollin’

I’m back! It’s been a while since my last post, and I’m here today with a recipe that you’re gonna want to copy down. My Aunt Ruth’s yeast rolls are famous within our family, and for good reason. This is my first attempt at bread making, and I have to say it’s a bit daunting. Aunt Ruth sent me a handwritten recipe, so I’m typing it out here:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Crisco
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup boiling water
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 cup water (105° to 110°F)
  • 2 packages yeast
  • 6 cups of bread flour

This recipe uses the invaluable resource that is a KitchenAid Stand Mixer, but if you don’t have one I’m sure you could do it by hand. To start off, add the Crisco, sugaIMG_1754r, and salt to the mixing bowl with the whisk attachment, then pour the cup of boiling water over it and mix until combined. I put a pot on the stove with about 3 cups of water to boil, then scooped out a cup and set the rest aside for the second part of water. After mixing in the boiling water, let the mix cool a little so it doesn’t cook the eggs. Once cool, add the beaten eggs and mix slightly. At this point, the mixtures looks quite nasty. Not to worry! All in good time.

Next comIMG_1757es the yeast. It’s really important that the water is within the temp range. If it’s too cold, the yeast won’t activate. If it’s too hot, the yeast will die. I used a steak thermometer to ensure the right temperature. I figure 107°F was a good medium to aim for. Once the water is the right temp, add the yeast and mix it until dissolved.  It looks a little something like this. Add the yeasty water to the mixing bowl. IMG_1761

Finally, add the bread flour one cup at a time, mixing after each addition. After 4-5 cups, switch to the bread hook attachment and add the remaining cups. I stopped at about 4 1/2 to switch. Once all the flour is added, let the dough knead in the mixer for 3 to 4 minutes.

Cover the dough with Saran wrap and aluminum foil and let it rise in the fridge for at least 4 hours but up to a week. I opted for overnight. IMG_1763

Look at that beautiful, poofy dough! Isn’t it gorgeous? Don’t get too excited, though. The waiting isn’t over yet! To prepare for baking, pinch off chunks of dough and roll into about 1 inch balls. Place 3 balls in each cup of a greased muffin tin.IMG_1743

Let the rolls rise, uncovered, in a warm place for 3 hours. I wasn’t aware of just how much they would rise, but oh boy do they poof up! Luckily, I only made 6 that size; the rest I toned down quite a bit.

How beautiful are those?? They taste almost as good as they look, maybe even better! These rolls are soooo yummy, and can be paired with anything: jelly, ham, or just some butter. I can’t tell you how happy I was to see they turned out right!! Hopefully I did Aunt Ruth some justice… Try these out! You won’t regret it.

4 thoughts on “Rollin’, Rollin’, Rollin’

  1. Those look beautiful, Audrey! What’s more, your cousin said they taste great too. I think you’ve got it!! Now the next generation( in your side of the state) can continue the tradition! Way to go.

    Like

  2. First of all, I am totally stealing this recipe! I love the shape of these. Now I know how to do that. It has been such a pleasure to read your blog. I appreciate your approach to cooking. You should consider keeping this going.

    Like

Leave a Reply

